Statement of Support for a Northeast Asia Nuclear Weapon Free Zone

We, the undersigned, express our support for the efforts to establish a Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone in Northeast Asia (NEA-NWFZ). We believe it is an urgent and timely initiative both for strengthening the global tide toward a Nuclear Weapon Free World and for achieving regional stability and peace in Northeast Asia.

Setting the goal of achieving a NEA-NWFZ will create a new positive dimension in the on-going Six Party Talks among the Republic of Korea (ROK), Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea (DPRK), Japan, China, Russia and the United States, by incorporating its goal of "verifiable denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula" (Six-nation Statement, 19 September 2005) within the broader regional vision.

Achieving a world free of nuclear weapons is an obligation not only of nuclear armed nations but of all nations, especially those whose security policy relies on a so-called nuclear umbrella. In this regards, all nations have the responsibility to find a path toward a security polity without nuclear weapons. A NEA-NWFZ will provide such a path for relevant nations in the region, including Japan and the Republic of Korea (ROK).

A realistic scheme for a NEA-NWFZ would be a 3+3 arrangement, in which the ROK, the DPRK and Japan would form the central parties of the zone and the neighboring nuclear weapon states (China, Russia and the US) would support it through the provision of security assurances, as this would build upon the 1992 Inter-Korean Joint Declaration on the Denuclearization of Korean Peninsula and Japan's Three Non-Nuclear Principles.

We call upon political leaders, both national and local, citizen groups, and individuals throughout the world, to express their support for a NEA NWFZ and to work together to realize it.

Endorser Mayors:

Etsuo Fushimi, Mayor of Taiki, Hokkaido Pref Hirotaka Sato, Mayor of Kushiro, Hokkaido Pref Katsuhiko Akutsu, Mayor of Ashoro, Hokkaido Pref Masahito Nishikawa, Mayor of Asahikawa, Hokkaido Pref Norihisa Yonezawa, Mayor of Obihiro, Hokkaido Pref Toshiki Kudo, Mayor of Hakodate, Hokkaido Pref Tsunehiko Kotani, Mayor of Kitami, Hokkaido Pref Yoshiji Sato, Mayor of Kamikawa, Hokkaido Pref Koetsu Sasaki, Mayor of Misato, Miyagi Pref Kunio Saito, Mayor of Watari, Miyagi Pref Kiyoshi Sato, Mayor of Murayama, Yamagata Pref Nobuhiro Takahashi, Mayor of Kori, Fukushima Pref Kazuo Hotate, Mayor of Kamisu, Ibaraki Pref Sakae Nakajima, Mayor of Miura, Ibaraki Pref Tatsuya Murakami, Mayor of Tokai, Ibaraki Pref Yasushi Takahashi, Mayor of Mito, Ibaraki Pref Kazunari Koizumi, Mayor of Narita, Chiba Pref Kazuo Warabi, Mayor of Sakura, Chiba Pref Masanori Kanesaka, Mayor of Oamishirasato, Chiba Pref Takashi Saito, Mayor of Yokoshibahikari, Chiba Pref Toshio Ishii, Mayor of Chosei, Chiba Pref Yoshiharu Izaki, Mayor of Nagareyama, Chiba Pref

Morimasa Murakami, Mayor of Musashino, Tokyo Pref Hisao Nakasaki, Mayor of Oiso, Kanagawa Pref Katsuhiro Ochiai, Mayor of Hiratsuka, Kanagawa Pref Ryuichi Hirai, Mayor of Zushi, Kanagawa Pref Takao Abe, Mayor of Kawasaki, Kanagawa Pref Yasunori Ebine, Mayor of Fujisawa, Kanagawa Pref Yoshiyuki Furuya, Mayor of Hadano, Kanagawa Pref Yasuo Yatsui, Mayor of Ojiya, Niigata Pref Shigeo Waki, Mayor of Asahi, Toyama Pref Yoshinori Sawasaki, Mayor of Uozu, Toyama Pref Takaaki Awa, Mayor of Nonoichi, Ishikawa Pref Hitoshi Mochizuki, Mayor of Minobu, Yamanashi Pref Mikio Sumino, Mayor of Showa, Yamanashi Pref Akira Sugenoya, Mayor of Matsumoto, Nagano Pref Motohiro Kumagai, Mayor of Takamori, Nagano Pref Takashi Shirotori, Mayor of Ina, Nagano Pref Hiroshi Shimizu, Mayor of Yaizu, Shizuoka Pref Takeshi Toyooka, Mayor of Mishima, Shizuoka Pref Mitsuru Edo, Mayor of Fuso, Aichi Pref Sumio Sakakibara, Mayor of Handa, Aichi Pref Toshiaki Ono, Mayor of Inazawa, Aichi Pref Yukinori Tanaka, Mayor of Inuyama, Aichi Pref Masaji Matsuyama, Mayor of Fukuchiyama, Kyoto Pref Gen Nakagawa, Mayor of Nara, Nara Pref Masakatsu Yoshida, Mayor of Yamatotakada, Nara Pref Osamu Takeuchi, Mayor of Hirakata, Osaka Pref Seita Tanaka, Mayor of Yao, Osaka Pref Yoshihiro Baba, Mayor of Neyagawa, Osaka Pref Masayoshi Shimada, Mayor of Fukusaki, Hyogo Pref Tomoko Nakagawa, Mayor of Takarazuka, Hyogo Pref Isao Takeuchi, Mayor of Tottori, Tottori Pref Toshiro Takeuchi, Mayor of Kofu, Tottori Pref Takashi Nishida, Mayor of Shoo, Okayama Pref Akira Hada, Mayor of Fukuyama, Hiroshima Pref Hiroaki Yamaguchi, Mayor of Sera, Hiroshima Pref Hiroshi Mimura, Mayor of Kumano, Hiroshima Pref Kanji Yamaoka, Mayor of Kaita, Hiroshima Pref Katsuhiro Shinno, Mayor of Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Pref Kazumi Matsui, Mayor of Hiroshima, Hiroshima Pref Masashi Kosaka, Mayor of Takehara, Hiroshima Pref Yoshio Kurata, Mayor of Higashihiroshima, Hiroshima Pref Yoshiyuki Watari, Mayor of Fuchu, Hiroshima Pref Yuko Hiratani, Mayor of Onomichi, Hiroshima Pref Hideto Onishi, Mayor of Takamatsu, Kagawa Pref Takumi Ihara, Mayor of Shikokuchuo, Ehime Pref Akio Sugimura, Mayor of Tosashimizu, Kochi Pref Makio Kadowaki, Mayor of Kami, Kochi Pref Masayuki Tokaji, Mayor of Hidaka, Kochi Pref Seiya Okazaki, Mayor of Kochi, Kochi Pref Yoshihiko Imanishi, Mayor of Motoyama, Kochi Pref Hisayoshi Shinozaki, Mayor of Kasuya, Fukuoka Pref Morichika Saito, Mayor of Iizuka, Fukuoka Pref Tsuneyuki Mitamura, Mayor of Yame, Fukuoka Pref Taichiro Taniguchi, Mayor of Ureshino, Saga Pref Akio Miyamoto, Mayor of Isahaya, Nagasaki Pref Ikuhiro Tomohiro, Mayor of Matuura, Nagasaki Pref Ikuko Nakao, Mayor of Goto, Nagasaki Pref Ken Hirase, Mayor of Togitsu, Nagasaki Pref Naruhiko Kuroda, Mayor of Hirado, Nagasaki Pref Shintaro Okumura, Mayor of Unzen, Nagasaki Pref

Tomihisa Taue, Mayor of Nagasaki, Nagasaki Pref Takashi Matsumoto, Mayor of Omura, Nagasaki Pref Takaichi Tanaka, Mayor of Saikai, Nagasaki Pref Toshiaki Inoue, Mayor of Shinkamigoto, Nagasaki Pref Yoneyuki Fujiwara, Mayor of Minamishimabara, Nagasaki Pref Koji Yoshimoto, Mayor of Tsukumi, Oita Pref Syuji Korenaga, Mayor of Usa, Oita Pref Yoichi Sato, Mayor of Hita, Oita Pref Tadashi Tojiki, Mayor of Miyazaki, Miyazaki Pref Hiroyuki Mori, Mayor of Kagoshima, Kagoshima Pref Akira Uema, Mayor of Nishihara, Okinawa Pref Denjitsu Ishimine, Mayor of Yomitan, Okinawa Pref Eicho Kawamitsu, Mayor of Taketomi, Okinawa Pref Kunio Arakaki, Mayor of Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa Pref Keisuke Hamada, Mayor of Nakagusuku, Okinawa Pref Masaharu Noguni, Mayor of Chatan, Okinawa Pref Mitsuko Toumon, Mayor of Okinawa, Okinawa Pref Takeshi Asato, Mayor of Ginowan, Okinawa Pref Takeshi Onaga, Mayor of Naha, Okinawa Pref Toshiyasu Shiroma, Mayor of Haebaru, Okinawa Pref Yoshihisa Shimabukuro, Mayor of Ogimi, Okinawa Pref Yoshitaka Nakayama, Mayor of Ishigaki, Okinawa Pref

Endorser Mayors Organizations:

Mayors for Peace National Council of Japan Nuclear Free Local Authorities

(104 Mayors and 2 Organizations as of August 5, 2011)

Contact: Peace Depot

E-mal: office@peacedepot.org

TEL: +81-45-563-5101 FAX:+81-45-563-9907